| Current Website | Imprint | Sitemap | Mobile     || Deutsch
| Home | musikfest berlin | Programme | Exhibitions | Luigi Nono
| Programme
| Exhibitions
| Luigi Nono
Opens a print version in a new window

Luigi Nono 1924–1990

Maestro di Suoni e silenzi – Master of Sound and Silence
An exhibition of the Fondazione Archivio Luigi Nono
3 to 19 September | Foyer of the Kammermusiksaal

Luigi Nono was born in 1924 to a Venetian family of artists and attorneys. During the 1950s, Nono developed alongside Pierre Boulez and Karlheinz Stockhausen into a key figure of the musical avant-garde, whose centre was Darmstadt, the setting of the celebrated Vacation Courses for New Music. In 1956, the premiere of the cantata Il canto sospeso marked his international breakthrough as a composer. In this piece, as in all of the works of this phase, Nono united an uncompromisingly avant-garde musical idiom with concrete political content. Beginning in 1960, he also took advantage of the possibilities offered by electronic music.

With the stage work Al gran sole carico d’amore (1975), he drew up a preliminary summary of his achievement. Thereafter, he remained silent for several years during which he radically questioned himself and his aesthetic assumptions. This process of reflection resulted in the late works of the 1980s, beginning with the string quartet Fragmente – Stille, An Diotima and culminating in 1985 with the premiere of Prometeo, his “Tragedia dell’ Ascolto.” Through reproductions and original documents from the Archivio Luigi Nono, the exhibition Maestro di Suoni e silenzi, assembled by Nuria Schönberg-Nono, traces the composer’s life and work. From the early 1950s to Intolleranza (1960), from Al gran sole carico d’amore to Prometeo, Nono’s artistic development is highlighted through manuscripts, photographs, music scores, letters, posters, and concert programmes.

The exhibition is meant to be viewed in the framework of the introductory and concert events of musikfest berlin.


| back