| Current Website | Imprint | Sitemap | Mobile     || Deutsch
| Home | Theatertreffen | Jury
| Jury
Opens a print version in a new window

The Jury of the Theatertreffen 2008

As in every year, the jury for the 2008 Theatertreffen was made up of seven theatre critics. These honorary jurors are allowed to serve for no longer than three years in succession. After that the Berliner Festspiele will appoint new jurors in consultation with the Federal Cultural Foundation.
After three years’ service, Hartmut Krug and Karin Cerny will be leaving the jury this year. Their successors are Wolfgang Höbel and Andres Müry.

Eva Behrendt, Berlin
Born in 1973. Studied History, German and Theatre Studies in Mainz, Dijon and Berlin. Since 1998 she has contributed to taz, Die Welt, Tages-Anzeiger; and since 2001 she has written regularly for Theater heute magazine. She served on the jury for the Impulse Festival (2003–2005) and the Berlin Senate (Jury for independent theatre companies 2004–2006).
Eva Behrendt

Jürgen Berger, Heidelberg
Born in 1954. Studied German and Politics in Heidelberg. Freelance theatre and literary critic for the Süddeutsche Zeitung, Berliner Tageszeitung and Theater heute. From 2003 to 2007 he was a member of the commitee that selected the Mülheim Playwriting Prize. Since 2007 he has been a juror of the Else Lasker-Schüler Playwriting Prize.
Jürgen Berger

Karin Cerny, Vienna
Born in 1968. Studied Theatre and German literature in Vienna and Berlin. Freelance work for the Austrian weekly papers Falter and Profil for many yerars. Articles for Theater der Zeit and Berliner Zeitung. Juror for the festival Politik im Freien Theater (Berlin, 2005) and for the third timefor the Werktstatttage at the Wiener Burgtheater. Member of the jury for the reform of the Off-Theatre scene in Vienna.
Karin Cerny

Stefan Keim, Wetter
Born in 1967 in Hagen, he studied Journalism in Dortmund and History and Theatre and Media Studies in Bochum. Freelance writer for WDR, the Frankfurter Rundschau, Die Welt and Die Deutsche Bühne. Writes principally on theatre, film, opera, classical music and cultural politics. Also works as a presenter and lectures on journalism.
Stefan Keim

Manfred Krug, Berlin
Born in 1946 in Hamburg. Studied theatre, German literature and art history at the FU Berlin, lecturer from 1981 to 1995 at the FU Berlin. Freelance critic for several theatre journals, newspapers and for the radio, especially for Deutschlandfunk and Deutschlandradio Kultur.
Hartmut Krug

Peter Müller, Zurich
Born in 1948. After leaving school he held a variety of jobs at the Schauspielhaus Zurich and directed his own productions at smaller theatres. He studied German, French and European literature in Zürich and Montpellier and in 1980 joined the staff of the Züricher Tages-Anzeiger, where he has specialized in theatre since 1987. In 2001 he was awarded a bursary by the Landis & Gyr Foundation in London.
Peter Müller

Christopher Schmidt, Munich
Born in 1964 in Hilden. Studied Philosophy and German in Berlin. Has reviewed theatre since 1993 for numerous publications, most notably the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Die Zeit and the Berliner Zeitung. Since 2001 Theatre editor of the Süddeutsche Zeitung. Lecturer at the Deutsche Journalistenschule in Munich.
Christopher Schmidt

| back