| Current Website | Imprint | Sitemap | Mobile     || Deutsch
| Home | MaerzMusik | Programme | Films
| Programme
| Films
Opens a print version in a new window
SOUNDTRACKS | LISTENING TO FILMS

Elephant (2003)

Film by Gus van Sant
Music by Hildegard Westerkamp / Frances White /
Ludwig van Beethoven

Sound by Leslie Shatz

In cooperation with Babylon

Almost incidentally, without commotion, in quiet tracking shots, the 35mm camera follows its outstanding amateur actors going about their school day and daily life.
Trivial events and non-events just like the pupils Nathan, Carrie and John experience every day, are artistically interwoven in Elephant with the real happenings of the shooting rampage by the two teenagers, Dylon Klebold and Eric Harris (also personified by amateur actors), who murdered twelve students and one teacher at Columbine High School in 1999, before turning the gun on themselves.
Van Sant avoids simple psychological models of explanation for the incomprehensible act. The hours before the massacre are recounted as flashbacks in short snapshots, when they end in the final part of the film during the unexpected catastrophe. The slowness of the film seem almost meditative.
In keeping with the dramaturgic concept of the film, the excellent sound design by van Sant and his sound designer, Leslie Shatz, also abstains from melodramatic moments.
The effectiveness of the sound track is displayed in its radical reduction using sound collages from William S. Borroughs and Soundscape-Recordings by the composers Frances White and Hildegard Westerkamp: Hollywood meets sound art. The compositions are employed in disassociation with the images and in doing so reveal their uncanny effectiveness: a soundwalk by two egoshooters down the school hallways to the sound landscape of Californian cloud forests.

| aktuelle Website | Impressum | Sitemap | mobil     || English
| Home | MaerzMusik | Programm | Filme
| Programm
| Filme
Öffnet die Druckansicht in einem neuen Fenster
TONSPUREN | FILME HÖREN

Elephant (2003)

Film von Gus van Sant
Musik von Hildegard Westerkamp / Frances White /
Ludwig van Beethoven

Ton von Leslie Shatz

In Kooperation mit Babylon

Beinahe beiläufig, ohne jede Aufregung, in ruhigen Fahraufnahmen, folgt die 35mm-Kamera seinen hervorragenden Laiendarstellern ihrem Schul- und Lebensalltag.
Kleine Ereignisse und Nichtereignisse, wie sie Schüler wie Nathan, Carrie und John jeden Tag erleben, werden so in Elephant kunstvoll mit den realen Geschehnissen des Amoklauf der beiden Teenager Dylon Klebold und Eric Harris verwoben (auch hier von Laiendarstellern verkörpert), die 1999 in der Columbine High School zwölf Schüler und einen Lehrer töteten, bevor sie sich selbst richteten.
Dabei verzichtet van Sant auf einfache psychologische Erklärungsmuster für die unfassbare Tat. Die Stunden vor dem Amoklauf werden in Rückblenden in kleinen Momentaufnahmen erzählt, um dann im Schlussteil des Films in der erwarteten Katastrophe zu enden. Der Film wirkt dabei in seiner Langsamkeit fast schon meditativ.
Analog zum dramaturgischen Konzept des Films verzichtet auch die herausragende Tonregie von van Sant und seinem Sounddesigner Leslie Shatz auf jegliche, melodramatische Momente.
Die Tonspur entfaltet ihre Wirkung in ihrer radikalen Reduktion unter Verwendung von Toncollagen von William S. Borroughs und Soundscape-Recordings der Komponistinnen Frances White und Hildegard Westerkamp: Hollywood trifft auf Klangkunst. Die Kompositionen werden dissoziativ zum Bild verwendet und entfalten gerade so ihre unheimliche Wirkung: ein Soundwalk zweier Egoshooter durch die Gänge der Schule zur Klanglandschaft kalifornischer Nebelwälder.