| Current Website | Imprint | Sitemap | Mobile     || Deutsch
| Home | MaerzMusik | Programme | Complete
| Programme
| Complete
Opens a print version in a new window

POLWECHSEL + JOHN TILBURY

SONIC ARTS LOUNGE | ALPENMUSIK ↔ STADTMUSIK

Burkhard Beins · drums/percussion
Martin Brandlmayr · drums/percussion
John Butcher · tenor/soprano saxophone
Werner Dafeldecker · double bass
Michael Moser · cello/computer

John Tilbury · piano

Werner Dafeldecker Field (2007) WP
Michael Moser place / replace / represent (2007) WP

The ensemble, founded by Werner Dafeldecker and Michael Moser in 1993 and including also Burkhard Beins, saxophonist John Butcher from Britain and Martin Brandlmayr, is considered one the most consistent and radical ensembles at the intersection of new music and structural improvisation. The work of the five sonic researchers is dominated by a reserved and cool use of electronics and precisely calculated, slow motion like transformations of noise formats and sonic complexes – often moving only just above the auditory threshold and using unorthodox playing techniques for their ‘analogous’ instruments.
“Precision and loss – Werner Dafeldecker’s music moves between these two poles, which at first sight seem wholly unrelated. Precision is demanded for every step of the way, from the compositional process to the smallest detail during performance... The compositions are based on the search for and clash of extreme sonic situations.”
Christian Scheib
.
Polwechsel will perform together with John Tilbury at the Sonic Arts Lounge of MaerzMusik 2007. John Tilbury, who has been a member of the legendary British improv group AMM (together with Keith Rowe and Eddie Prevost) since 1979, is most renowned for his interpretations of contemporary piano music.

| aktuelle Website | Impressum | Sitemap | mobil     || English
| Home | MaerzMusik | Programm | Gesamt
| Programm
| Gesamt
Öffnet die Druckansicht in einem neuen Fenster

POLWECHSEL + JOHN TILBURY

SONIC ARTS LOUNGE | ALPENMUSIK ↔ STADTMUSIK

Burkhard Beins · Drums/Percussion
Martin Brandlmayr · Drums/Percussion
John Butcher · Tenor-/Sopransaxophon
Werner Dafeldecker · Kontrabass
Michael Moser · Cello/Computer

John Tilbury · Klavier

Werner Dafeldecker Field (2007) UA
Michael Moser place / replace / represent (2007) UA

1993 von Werner Dafeldecker und Michael Moser gegründet, gilt das Ensemble, zu dem noch Burkhard Beins, der britische Saxophonist John Butcher und Martin Brandlmayr gehören, als eines der konsequentesten und radikalsten Ensembles im Schnittbereich von neuer Musik und struktureller Improvisation. Distanziert-kühler Einsatz von Elektronik und exakt kalkulierte, slow-motion-artige Transformationen von Geräusch-Tableaus und Klangkomplexen – oft nur knapp über der Hörschwelle und unter Einsatz unorthodoxer Spieltechniken des „analogen“ Instrumentariums – dominieren die Arbeit der fünf Klangforscher.
„Genauigkeit und Verlust – zwischen diesen Polen, die vorerst nichts miteinander zu tun haben scheinen, oszilliert die Musik von Werner Dafeldecker. Genauigkeit wird in jeder Faser gefordert, vom Kompositionsprozess bis hin in das kleinste Detail der spielerischen Ausführung... Die Kompositionen beruhen auf dem Finden und Einander-Aussetzen von extremen Klangzuständen.“
Christian Scheib

Polwechsel wird in der Sonic Arts Lounge der MaerzMusik 2007 zusammen mit John Tilbury auftreten. John Tilbury, seit 1979 ständiges Mitglied der legendären britischen Improv-Gruppe AMM (zusammen mit Keith Rowe und Eddie Prevost), ist vor allem als herausragender Interpret zeitgenössischer Klavierwerke bekannt.