| Current Website | Imprint | Sitemap | Mobile     || Deutsch
| Home | Theatertreffen | Info | tt04
| Info
| tt04
Opens a print version in a new window

tt04

spring | may | theatertreffen

For the 41st theatertreffen, everything came together once again.
Spring has been somewhat erratic. Both winter and the height of summer put in brief appearances. May began with summer sun, towards the middle of the month allowed occasional April showers and came to a close with the comforting warmth of springtime. As always the guests of the theatertreffen and the audiences enjoyed this combination.

We can claim, not without a certain pride, that this year’s theatertreffen inspired productive discussions about theatre in the German-speaking countries amongst our guests, the audience, theatre lovers and theatre critics alike, discussions which have made themselves felt far beyond national boundaries, and continue to do so.

Topics for discussion and debate were the theatre, its wealth of forms and expression – not about the theatertreffen itself and its right to exist (although it has always held its own in such nonsensical debates). The selection made by the jury of seven – here, once again, our heartfelt thanks for this excellent work! – produced a tableau which, in its diversity, provoked, but also inspired and hardly left anyone unaffected.

In the otherwise critically-disposed newspaper "Welt" one could read the following: the selection "represented a valid assessment of the intriguing, diverse achievements made by our municipal and national theatre establishment: 64 productions of comparable high standard were on hand for the selection of the ten best. And this is the proof: the millions in subsidies are not wasted." (Reinhard Wengierek)

Johan Simon’s precise, distantly analytical Müller commentary "Anatomy. Titus Fall of Rome. A Shakespeare Commentary" by the Münchner Kammerspielen, in the stage set by Bert Neumann, opened – minimalist and fantastic at one and the same time – the Theatertreffen in the Haus der Berliner Festspiele. For some too demanding, for others a revealing mind game or a memorable surprise.

The audience thanked our guests from the theatre with overwhelming applause on many evenings in the Haus der Berliner Festspiele, celebrate"Uncle Vanya" by the Munich Residenz Theater with standing ovations, did not tire through Jelinek’s "Work" from Vienna, succumbed totally to "Untitled. A Replacement Passion" and gave Marthaler a warm and loud welcome back to Berlin at the award ceremony. For the grand finale Alain Platel came with "Wolf" – came, saw and conquered. The 3sat Theatre award was assured and received enthusiastically. The revitalization of the Haus der Berliner Festspiele became tangible to all those present – and we are happy, in spite of all the prophecies of doom, that the dignified former Freie Volksbühne in no way resembled or resembles the cadaver of the Schiller Theatre.

The Stückemarkt market for plays, successfully restructured last year and now European, made its own important contribution: All four events were well visited and along with the newly formed dramatists salon and dramatist workshop one can justifiably speak of a highly professional platform for dramatists.

Apart from the continuous performances in our own house, other venues for guest performances had to be found. Thanks to the Volksbühne on Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz, the Deutsches Theater, the sophiensælen and the HAU (Hebbel am Ufer) the ensembles found the right venue for their work on the one hand and on the other the Theatertreffen found an extensive anchorage in the city.

This year we bid farewell to four of the seven jurors: Georg Diez, Gerhard Jörder, Gerhard Preußer and Franz Wille! And we welcome four new colleagues: Barbara Burckhardt (Theater heute), Christine Dössel (Süddeutsche Zeitung), Peter Michalzik (Frankfurter Rundschau) and Andreas Wilink (K. WEST- the magazine for NRW television). Till Briegleb (FAZ, Die Zeit, amongst others), Wolfgang Kralicek (Falter, Vienna) and Tobi Müller (Tages-Anzeiger, Zürich) remain in the jury. For them and for us: Good luck!

Joachim Sartorius, Director Berliner Festspiele
Iris Laufenberg, Director Theatertreffen

| back

| aktuelle Website | Impressum | Sitemap | mobil     || English
| Home | Theatertreffen | Infos | tt04
| Infos
| tt04
Öffnet die Druckansicht in einem neuen Fenster

tt04

frühling | mai | theatertreffen

Alles kam auch im 41. Jahr wieder zusammen.
Es war ein abwechslungsreicher Frühling. Ein Frühling, in dem der Winter aber auch der Hochsommer jeweils kurz vorbeischaute. Der Mai begann mit Sommersonne, ließ gegen Mitte gelegentliche Regengüsse zu und endete in wohliger Frühlingswärme. Die Gäste des Theatertreffens und das Publikum genossen wie immer diese Zusammenkunft.

Wir dürfen nicht ohne Stolz sagen, dass das Theatertreffen in diesem Jahr unsere Gäste, das Publikum, Theaterfreunde und -kritiker zu fruchtbaren Diskussionen über das Theater im deutschsprachigen Raum angeregt hat, Diskussionen, die weit über nationale Grenzen hinaus gewirkt haben und noch wirken.

Es wurde über das Theater, seinen Form- und Ausdrucksreichtum geredet und gestritten – nicht über die Daseinsberechtigung des Theatertreffens (das aber auch bisher jeder solcher Nonsens-Debatten standgehalten hat). Mit der Auswahl der siebenköpfigen Jury – an dieser Stelle noch einmal unseren herzlichen Dank für diese hervorragende Arbeit! – ist ein Tableau entstanden, das in seiner Vielfältigkeit provoziert, aber auch inspiriert und kaum jemanden unberührt gelassen hat.

In der sonst kritischen „Welt“ hieß es: Die Auswahl „repräsentierte eine gültige Draufsicht auf die verblüffenden, breit gestreuten Spitzenleistungen unseres Stadt- und Staatstheateralltags: 64 annähernd gleichrangig gute Produktionen standen zur Auslese der zehn besten. Und das ist der Beweis: Die Subventionsmillionen sind nicht vertan.“ (Reinhard Wengierek)

Johan Simons präziser, distanziert analysierender Müller-Kommentar „Anatomie Titus Fall of Rome Ein Shakespearekommentar“ von den Münchner Kammerspielen eröffnete - minimalistisch und phantastisch zugleich - im Bühnenbild von Bert Neumann das Theatertreffen im Haus der Berliner Festspiele. Für die einen Überforderung, für andere ein offenbarendes Denk-Spiel oder auch eine denkwürdige Überraschung.

Das Publikum dankte unseren Theatergästen viele Abende im Haus der Berliner Festspiele mit großem Applaus, feierte den „Onkel Wanja“ vom Münchner Residenz Theater mit Standing Ovations, ließ auch beim Jelinekschen „Werk“ aus Wien keine Müdigkeit aufkommen, gab sich ganz „O.T. Eine Ersatzpassion“ hin und hieß Marthaler bei der Preisverleihung heftig und herzlich willkommen zurück in Berlin. Zum Grande Finale kam dann Alain Platel mit „Wolf“ - kam, sah und siegte. Der 3sat Theaterpreis war ihm sicher und wurde von ihm mit Begeisterung entgegen genommen. Die Belebung des Hauses der Berliner Festspiele ist für alle, die da waren, spürbar geworden – und wir sind froh, dass allen Unkenrufen zum Trotz diese altehrwürdige ehemalige „Freie Volksbühne“ in keiner Weise der Schiller-Theater-Leiche gleicht oder gleichen wird.

Der im vergangenen Jahr erfolgreich reformierte, jetzt europäische Stückemarkt trägt das seinige dazu bei: Alle vier Veranstaltungen erfreuten sich großen Zuspruchs und zusammen mit den neu gegründeten Formaten Dramatiker-Salon und Dramatiker-Workshop kann man guten Gewissens beim Stückemarkt von einer hoch qualifizierten Dramatiker-Plattform sprechen.

Neben der durchgehenden Bespielung des eigenen Hauses, mussten andere Gastspielorte gefunden werden. Dank der Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz, dank dem Deutschen Theater, den sophiensælen und dem HAU (Hebbel am Ufer) fanden einerseits die Ensembles den richtigen Spielort für ihre Arbeit und gelang andererseits dem Theatertreffen breitflächig seine Verankerung in der Stadt.

Wir verabschieden in diesem Jahr vier der sieben Juroren: Georg Diez, Gerhard Jörder, Gerhard Preußer und Franz Wille! Und wir heißen vier neue herzlich willkommen: Barbara Burckhardt (Theater heute), Christine Dössel (Süddeutsche Zeitung), Peter Michalzik (Frankfurter Rundschau) und Andreas Wilink (K. WEST- das Feuilleton für NRW). Dazu bleiben noch in der Jury: Till Briegleb (u.a. FAS, Die Zeit), Wolfgang Kralicek (Falter, Wien) und Tobi Müller (Tages-Anzeiger, Zürich). Ihnen und uns: Glück auf!

Joachim Sartorius, Intendant Berliner Festspiele
Iris Laufenberg, Leiterin Theatertreffen

| zurück