| Current Website | Imprint | Sitemap | Mobile     || Deutsch
| Home | musikfest berlin | Programme
| Programme
Opens a print version in a new window

SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg

Hans Zender [*1936]
Logos Fragmente [Canto IX]
for 32 voices and four orchestral groups [2006-10]
among others based on texts from the Gospel according to John, by Valentinus, from the Gospel according to Thomas-Evangelium and from the Hebrew Collection Pirqe Abot

Fragment II: From the Pirqe Abot: Passion (English)
Fragment III: John 10, 17–18: Warum (German)
Fragment V: Psalm of Valentino: Valentinos (German)
Fragment VIII: John 20, 11–18: Magdalena (German)
Fragment I: John, 1,1–16: Im Anfang (Greek–German)
Fragment VII: John 14, 5–9: Weg (German)
Fragment IV: John 15, 1–6: Weinstock (German)
Fragment VI: From the Gospel according to Thomas (German)
Fragment IX: Apostle 2, 2–4 | Dance Song from the Acta Johannis: Geist (German, Latin)

WORLD PREMIERE of the complete work
WORLD PREMIERE of Fragment II, III, IX
Fragment II, III und IX is commissioned by musikfest berlin | Berliner Festspiele and the SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg


Fragment II, III und IX is commissioned by musikfest berlin | Berliner Festspiele and the SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg

SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg
SWRVokalensemble Stuttgart | Celso Antunes coach
Emilio Pomárico conductor

Highly esteemed as a composer, conductor, conservatory teacher and essayist: the essential traits of Hans Zender are his curiosity and his open mind. In his music he is always raising new questions, challenging the components of an artwork, dissecting and analysing the principles of art and their realization.

For the sequence of works entitled Logos Fragmente for mixed chorus and large orchestra, Zender has drawn upon religious writings by various authors of the Judaeo-Christian tradition. These texts, dating from the early centuries of the Common Era, are distinguished by the powerful images of their ritualistic language. In an interview, Zender has observed that “we live in an information society in which language and technological media play an enormously important role. That makes it easy for us to forget the levels of metaphor and, especially, magic and ritual.” He sees art’s task, above all, as contrasting values from cultures of the distant past with our own disastrously misguided belief in progress. Zender is convinced that only in this way can present-day society survive: “Art – it’s no coincidence that Mnemosyne is the mother of the Muses – at once a utopian plan rushing into the future and the memory of antiquity.”

In Logos Fragmente, Zender investigates the nature of vocal music, the relationship between words and tones. He also questions the unity of a work of art, examines the idea of authorship and, ultimately, the greatly heightened status of the artistic creator prevailing since the advent of the Romantic age’s cult of genius. Each of the nine Logos fragments is differently constituted. Internal cohesion is provided by the scoring, which is the same in every piece, a breathtakingly complex, microtonal harmonic language, and rhythmic principles applied consistently as supra-individual rules in all nine fragments in order to curtail the “arbitrariness of the composing subject” (Zender).

“Perhaps this society is beginning to realize that it needs a conscious and renewable orientation to the powers of concentration and observation in order to restore balance,” wrote Hans Zender a few years ago in an essay. “It also is looking to music, which stimulates and conveys that orientation.” With Logos Fragmente he continues the pursuit of his goal, that of offering new and intense experiences which stir something in the listener and, ideally, lead to “Happy New Ears”, the title of one of Zender’s essay collections.

The SWR Symphony Orchestra of Baden-Baden and Freiburg and Hans Zender have long been associated, and the individual fragments were created in close collaboration with the SWR Vocal Ensemble of Stuttgart. At musikfest berlin all nine Logos Fragmente are being performed together for the first time.

| aktuelle Website | Impressum | Sitemap | mobil     || English
| Home | musikfest berlin | Programm
| Programm
Öffnet die Druckansicht in einem neuen Fenster

SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg

Hans Zender [*1936]
Logos Fragmente [Canto IX)]
für 32 Singstimmen und 4 Orchestergruppen [2006-10]

u.a. nach Texten aus dem Johannes-Evangelium, von Valentinus, aus dem Thomas-Evangelium und aus der hebräischen Spruchsammlung Pirqe Abot

Fragment II: Aus dem Pirqe Abot: Passion (englisch)
Fragment III: Johannes 10, 17–18: Warum (deutsch)
Fragment V: Psalm des Valentinos: Valentinos (deutsch)
Fragment VIII: Johannes 20, 11–18: Magdalena (deutsch)
Fragment I: Johannes, 1,1–16: Im Anfang (griechisch–deutsch)
Fragment VII: Johannes 14, 5–9: Weg (deutsch)
Fragment IV: Johannes 15, 1–6: Weinstock (deutsch)
Fragment VI: Aus dem Thomas-Evangelium (deutsch)
Fragment IX: Apostel 2, 2-4 | Tanzlied aus den Acta Johannis: Geist (deutsch, lateinisch)

URAUFFÜHRUNG des Gesamtzyklus
URAUFFÜHRUNG von Fragment II, III und IX
Fragment II, III und IX sind Kompositionsaufträge des musikfest berlin | Berliner Festspiele und des SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg

SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg
SWR Vokalensemble Stuttgart | Celso Antunes Einstudierung
Emilio Pomárico Leitung

Ein hochgeschätzter Komponist, Dirigent, Hochschullehrer, Essayist: Wesenszüge von Hans Zender sind seine Neugier und sein offenes Denken. In seiner Musik findet er immer neue Fragestellungen, hinterfragt die Bauelemente des Kunstwerks, seziert und analysiert die Gesetzmäßigkeiten von Kunst und deren Wahrnehmung.
Für die Werkfolge Logos Fragmente für gemischten Chor und großes Orchester hat Hans Zender religiöse Texte verschiedener Autoren jüdisch-christlicher Tradition aus den ersten Jahrhunderten unserer Zeitrechnung herangezogen. Diese alten Texte beeindrucken durch die starken Bilder ihrer rituellen Sprache. »Wir leben in einer Informationsgesellschaft, in der die Sprache und die technischen Medien ein sehr starkes Gewicht haben. Wir vergessen darüber leicht das Metaphorische und ganz und gar die Ebene des Magischen oder Kultischen«, hat Hans Zender einmal in einem Interview gesagt. Er sieht in der Kunst vor allem auch die Aufgabe, der sich als fatal erweisenden Fortschrittsgläubigkeit Werte aus lange vergangenen Kulturen gegenüberzustellen. Nur so bleibe unsere heutige Gesellschaft überlebensfähig, ist Zender überzeugt: »(…) Kunst – nicht umsonst ist Mnemosyne die Mutter der Musen – ist im gleichen Moment in die Zukunft eilender utopischer Entwurf und Erinnerung an das Uralte.«

In Logos Fragmente untersucht Hans Zender das Wesen der Vokalmusik, das Verhältnis zwischen Wort und Ton. Und er fragt nach der Einheit eines Kunstwerks, hinterfragt Autorschaft und letztlich den seit dem Geniekult der Romantik stark betonten Status des Urhebers von Kunst. Jedes der neun Logos Fragmente hat eine unterschiedliche Faktur. Inneren Zusammenhalt gewährleisten neben der gleichen Besetzung eine atemberaubend komplexe mikrotonale Harmonik und rhythmische Prinzipien, die konsequent auf alle neun Fragmente angewendet werden, um als überindividuelle Gesetzmäßigkeiten die »Willkür des komponierenden Subjekts“ (Zender) eindämmen.

»Vielleicht beginnt diese Gesellschaft zu spüren, dass es (…) einer bewussten und neu einübenden Hinwendung zu den Kräften der Konzentration und Betrachtung bedarf, um wieder ins Lot zu kommen; so sucht sie auch nach Musik, die derartiges anregt und vermittelt«, hat Hans Zender vor einigen Jahren in einem Aufsatz geschrieben. Mit Logos Fragmente verfolgt er sein Ziel weiter, neue, intensive Erfahrungen anzubieten, die beim Hörer etwas bewegen und im besten Fall zu „Happy New Ears“ führen, wie der Titel einer Essaysammlung von Hans Zender lautet.

Das SWR-Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg verbindet eine lange Zusammenarbeit mit Hans Zender. Die einzelnen Fragmente entstanden zudem in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem SWR Vokalensemble Stuttgart. Beim Musikfest Berlin werden erstmals alle Logos Fragmente gespielt.