| Current Website | Imprint | Sitemap | Mobile     || Deutsch
| Home | Theatertreffen | Stückemarkt | Programme
| Stückemarkt
| Programme
Opens a print version in a new window

Stückemarkt IV

der penner ist jetzt schon wieder woanders
[now the jerk is somewhere else again]
by Juri Sternburg (*1983, Berlin)

Scenic arrangement by David Bösch
Dramaturgy John von Düffel
Stage and costume design Nora Johanna Gromer
Read by Mirco Kreibich, Jörg Pohl and Michael Schweighöfer

A road movie set in the catacombs of the Berlin underground system. Two men of indeterminate age embark on an incredibly dark and – for everyone they encounter – deadly quest. The reason for their journey is their search for their dealer but “now the jerk is somewhere else again”.
The characters they meet are mirrored mercilessly by Andrei and Igor whose view of mankind and the world is the measure of all things and gives them the right to kill. Those who must die are a publisher, a graffiti artist, an old age pensioner, a couple of tourists, who leave three children behind them, a policeman, whose appearance is taken by Andrei and Igor as a harbinger of something greater.
And then suddenly among all these corpses sits God and he’s reading Conan Doyle. He shows the pair the future where a generational war has broken out and Africa “unarmed but resolute” will march on Europe and he tells them the right numbers for the lottery. Just before Friedrichstraße station God is killed by Igor. We hear the announcement: “Travellers to the German Democratic Republic exit on the left hand side. This train terminates here.”
Not only Igor and Andrei are confused, so is the reader. How Juri Sternburg resolves this has yet to be revealed. The dealer has not turned up, God’s corpse has also disappeared and one asks oneself whether they are both one and the same.
Barbara Mundel

Juri Sternburg was born in Berlin in 1983 and has been active in graffiti and street art since 1998. He has completed work experience and internships in the stage design departments of the Maxim Gorki Theater Berlin and the German Theatre in Almaty, Kazakhstan. His first play ‘6 square meters of chrome’ was created in 2007 as a commission from the Berlin Trockenschwimmer Festival. Directed by Christian Vilma, the play received its world premiere in the municipal swimming baths in Oderberger Straße. Since 2007 Juri Sternburg has written regular columns and articles for the culture section of die taz. His debut radio play ‘Bouncer’ (co-author Frauke Schmidt) was first broadcast in March on SWR. With his theatre play ‘the tramp’s already gone’ he was invited to the 2010 Heidelberger Stückemarkt. Juri Sternburg lives in Berlin.

| aktuelle Website | Impressum | Sitemap | mobil     || English
| Home | Theatertreffen | Stückemarkt | Programm
| Stückemarkt
| Programm
Öffnet die Druckansicht in einem neuen Fenster

Stückemarkt IV

der penner ist jetzt schon wieder woanders
von Juri Sternburg (*1983, Berlin)

Szenische Einrichtung David Bösch
Dramaturgie John von Düffel
Ausstattung Nora Johanna Gromer
Es lesen Mirco Kreibich, Jörg Pohl und Michael Schweighöfer

Ein Road-Movie in den Katakomben der Berliner U-Bahn. Zwei Männer unbestimmten Alters sind auf einer ungeheuerlich düsteren und für alle, die ihnen begegnen, tödlichen Sinnsuche. Grund der Fahrt ist die Suche nach ihrem Dealer, aber „der Penner ist jetzt schon wieder woanders“.
Die Personen, die ihnen begegnen, werden erbarmungslos durch Andrej und Igor gespiegelt, deren Sicht auf Mensch und Welt das Maß aller Dinge ist und ihnen das Recht gibt zu töten. Sterben müssen ein Verleger, ein Graffitisprüher, eine Rentnerin, ein Touristenpärchen, das drei Kinder hinterlassen wird, ein Polizist, dessen Erscheinen von Andrej und Igor als Vorbote von etwas Größerem begriffen wird.
Und dann sitzt da zwischen all den Leichen auf einmal Gott und liest Conan Doyle. Er zeigt den beiden die Zukunft, in der ein Generationenkrieg entbrannt ist und Afrika „unbewaffnet aber geschlossen“ auf Europa marschieren wird, und sagt die richtigen Lottozahlen voraus. Kurz vor Bahnhof Friedrichstraße wird Gott von Igor getötet. Wir hören die Durchsage: „Reisende in die Hauptstadt der Deutschen Demokratischen Republik Ausstieg links. Dieser Zug endet hier.“
Verwirrung nicht nur bei Igor und Andrej, auch beim Leser. Wie Juri Sternburg diese dann auflöst, sei noch nicht verraten. Der Dealer ist nicht aufgetaucht, die Leiche von Gott ist ebenfalls verschwunden, und man fragt sich, ob beide nicht doch ein und derselbe sind.
Barbara Mundel

Juri Sternburg, 1983 in Berlin geboren, beschäftigt sich seit 1998 mit Graffiti und Street Art. Er absolvierte Bühnenbildhospitanzen und -praktika u.a. am Maxim Gorki Theater Berlin und am Deutschen Theater in Almaty, Kasachstan. 2007 entstand sein erstes Stück „6 quadratmeter Chrom“ als Auftragswerk des Berliner Trockenschwimmer-Festivals. Unter der Regie von Christian Vilmar kam das Stück im Stadtbad Oderberger Straße zur Uraufführung. Seit 2007 schreibt Juri Sternburg regelmäßig Kolumnen und Artikel für den Kulturteil der taz. Sein erstes Hörspiel „Türsteher“ (Co-Autorin Frauke Schmidt) wurde im März 2010 im SWR urgesendet. Mit seinem Theaterstück „der penner ist jetzt schon wieder woanders“ wurde er 2010 zum Heidelberger Stückemarkt eingeladen. Juri Sternburg lebt in Berlin.