| Current Website | Imprint | Sitemap | Mobile     || Deutsch
| Home | MaerzMusik | MaerzMusik 2011
| MaerzMusik 2011
Opens a print version in a new window

MaerzMusik – Festival of Contemporary Music

18 to 27 March 2011


SOUND IMAGE MOVEMENT

MUSIC WITH FILM · VIDEO · VISUALS · LIGHT

CHAMBER MUSIC · RECITALS · SONIC ARTS LOUNGE

QUERKLANG: SCHOOL CHILDREN COMPOSE

In 2011 MaerzMusik caters for the eyes and the ears by focusing on the interrelation between sounds and images in movement.

Even before the development of new, particularly digital technologies, diverse approaches were attempting to converge and integrally control music, images, movement and light. The dissolution of borders between artistic disciplines and the intermedia advancement of acoustic and visual dimensions was a fundamental concern of the avantgardists of the 20th century, rooted in the visionary notion of the “Gesamtkunstwerk” by Richard Wagner or the synesthetic fantasies of Alexander Skriabin and successors. At the beginning of the 21st century, sophisticated tools for audio-visual processing are ubiquitous and easily accessible. The almost unlimited expansion of creative options gives rise to fascinating potential but also a danger of somewhat arbitrary, formulaic, merely gimmicky audio-visual design.

MaerzMusik 2011 addresses this controversial discourse. The festival presents outstanding, but also challenging new projects – with new music to old films, musical video art and experimental intermedia performance installations.

The festival opens with a venue-specific version of Rebecca Saunders’ Chroma in the Sputnik aesthetic of MOSKAU. Not only do the musicians continually change their performance position, but the audience is also free to move around and individually experience the work. In MOSKAU’s nightclub Michael Vorfeld pays homage to the light bulb with a musical, luminous monument.

New music to old films: four classics of the silent film era are cast in a fresh light by new compositions. Ensemble Modern accompanies Fritz Lang’s Metropolis with music by Martin Matalon that the Argentine composer adapted to the celebrated 2010 restored version. Misato Mochizuki supplements the tragic protofeminist drama Taki no shirato by Kenji Mizoguchi with subtle, sparse but complex music. The musicians accompanying guitarist Gary Lucas vibrantly play music by Reza Namavar and Lucas to the monumental epic film J’accuse by Abel Gance about love in the time of the First World War. Finally, visitors can experience One-Sixth of the World by the Russian film revolutionary Dziga Vertov with music by Michael Nyman.

Various productions span the fields of staged concert, concert installation and intermedia music performance. Ensemble ascolta performs a world premiere by the Taiwanese composer Pei-Yu Shi, works by the Irish composer Jennifer Walshe and by Elena Mendoza, who was recently awarded the Spanish National Music Prize. Monodramas by Perttu Haapanen and Lotta Wennäkoski hails from Finland, the music to the swirling stage sculpture Sandglasses comes from the Lithuanian composer Justė Janulytė. Rotation also plays a role in Tables Are Turned by Bernhard Lang with the ensemble Alter Ego from Rome and the British turntablist Philip Jeck. A “zoo” of over 200 instruments will be revealed in Tiere sitzen nicht by Enno Poppe and Wolfgang Heiniger – instruments that are now easily able to realize the futuristic vision that was behind the invention of Intonarumori over a 100 years ago. Luciano Chessa reconstructed 16 of these noise generators and has commissioned many new compositions, by Blixa Bargeld and Mike Patton, to name a few. Lillevan, master of live video mixing, presents with Michael Wertmüller, Steamboat Switzerland and courage from Dresden the performance Licht – Zeiten in the immense TRAFO Kraftwerk Mitte, where audiovisual performances by alva noto aka Carsten Nicolai and Ryoji Ikeda will also take place as part of the Sonic Arts Lounge series. Shintaro Imai and Yutaka Makino present new venue-specific performance installations in Berghain. The composer Christoph Gallio and the photo video artist Beat Streuli build bridges between musical processes and image projections.

The abundance of intermedia and interdisciplinary performances will be complemented by chamber music recitals. Giving their Berlin debut will be the American-Japanese composer Ken Ueno, the young Dutch pianist Ralph van Raat and the 20-strong ensemble Alarm Will Sound from New York. The Diotima Quartet from Paris will once again perform at MaerzMusik, as will Trio Accanto with their homage to the 75th birthday of Helmut Lachenmann. The midnight series “Listening to Films” in Babylon Mitte focuses on the soundtracks of classic and celebrated films, whose impact is in essence due to the music. The subsequent associated “Music – Film – Marathon” by Take Off Productions perfectly complements the motto of MaerzMusik 2011.

10 years of MaerzMusik – you are cordially invited to experience adventures, pleasures and challenges for the eyes and ears.

Matthias Osterwold

| back

| aktuelle Website | Impressum | Sitemap | mobil     || English
| Home | MaerzMusik | MaerzMusik 2011
| MaerzMusik 2011
Öffnet die Druckansicht in einem neuen Fenster

MaerzMusik – Festival für aktuelle Musik

18. bis 27. März 2011


KLANG BILD BEWEGUNG

MUSIK MIT FILM · VIDEO · VISUALS · LICHT

KAMMERMUSIK · RECITALS · SONIC ARTS LOUNGE

QUERKLANG: SCHÜLER KOMPONIEREN

MaerzMusik legt 2011 den Schwerpunkt auf Hören und Sehen, auf die Verbindung von bewegten Klängen und bewegten Bildern.

Nicht erst seit der Entwicklung neuer, insbesondere digitaler Technologien gibt es mannigfaltige Ansätze, um Musik, Bilder, Bewegung und Licht miteinander zu verknüpfen und integral zu steuern. Die Auflösung der Grenzen zwischen den Kunstsparten und die intermediale Durchdringung akustischer und visueller Dimensionen war ein wesentliches Anliegen der Avantgarden des 20. Jahrhunderts, wurzelnd in den visionären Vorstellungen des „Gesamtkunstwerks“ bei Richard Wagner oder den synästhetischen Phantasien bei Alexander Skrjabin und Nachfolgern. Am Anfang des 21. Jahrhunderts sind raffinierte technische Mittel zur Bearbeitung audio-visuellen Materials allgegenwärtig und leicht verfügbar. In der fast unbegrenzten Erweiterung gestalterischer Möglichkeiten stecken faszinierende Potentiale, aber auch Gefahren eines recht beliebigen, vorgestanzten und bloß effekthaschenden audio-visuellen Designs. MaerzMusik 2011 stellt sich diesem kontroversen Diskurs. Das Festival präsentiert exemplarische und mutige Projekte aus jüngster Zeit – mit neuer Musik zu alten Filmen, musikalischer Videokunst und experimentellen Performance Installationen.

In der Sputnik-Ästhetik des MOSKAU eröffnet das Festival mit einer auf den Ort zugeschnittenen Fassung von Rebecca Saunders’ Chroma. Nicht nur die Musiker wechseln stetig ihre Spielpositionen, auch der einzelne Besucher erwandert sich individuell das Werk. Im Night Club des MOSKAU setzt Michael Vorfeld mit Light Bulb Music der Glühlampe ein klingend leuchtendes Denkmal.

Neue Musik zu alten Filmen: Vier Klassiker der Stummfilm-Ära erfahren durch Musik aus jüngster Zeit eine frische Beleuchtung. Das Ensemble Modern begleitet Fritz Langs Metropolis mit Musik von Martin Matalon, die der argentinische Komponist an die umjubelte restaurierte Fassung von 2010 angepasst hat. Misato Mochizuki unterlegt das tragische proto-feministische Drama Taki no shirato von Kenji Mizoguchi mit subtiler, vielschichtiger Musik. Die Musiker um den Gitarristen Gary Lucas und den Komponisten Reza Namavar spielen feinnervig und pulsierend zum monumentalen Filmepos J’accuse von Abel Gance über die Liebe in den Zeiten des 1. Weltkriegs. Zuletzt ist Ein Sechstel der Erde des russischen Film-Revolutionärs Dziga Vertov mit Musik von Michael Nyman zu erleben.

Diverse Produktionen bewegen sich im Feld von szenischem Konzert, Konzertinstallation und intermedialer Musikperformance. Ensemble ascolta performt Werke der Irin Jennifer Walshe, der frisch gekürten spanischen Nationalpreisträgerin Elena Mendoza und eine Uraufführung der Taiwanesin Pei-Yu Shi. Aus Finnland kommen Monodramas von Perttu Haapanen und Lotta Wennäkoski, von der litauischen Komponistin Justė Janulytė stammt die Musik zur strudelnden Bühnenskulptur Sandglasses. Rotation spielt auch eine Rolle bei Tables Are Turned von Bernhard Lang mit Alter Ego aus Rom und dem britischen „Turntablisten“ Philip Jeck. Ein „Zoo“ von über 200 Instrumenten wird in Tiere sitzen nicht von Enno Poppe und Wolfgang Heiniger gezeigt – Instrumente, die heute leicht einlösen können, was vor 100 Jahren als futuristische Vision hinter der Erfindung der Intonarumori stand. Luciano Chessa hat 16 dieser Geräuscherzeuger rekonstruiert und viele neue Kompositionen u. a. von Blixa Bargeld und Mike Patton schreiben lassen. Lillevan, Meister des Live-Video-Mixes, präsentiert mit Michael Wertmüller, Steamboat Switzerland und courage aus Dresden Licht – Zeiten im riesigen TRAFO Kraftwerk Mitte, wo bei den Sonic Arts Lounges auch audio-visuelle Performances von alva noto aka Carsten Nicolai und Ryoji Ikeda zu erleben sind. Im Berghain zeigen Shintaro Imai und Yutaka Makino neueste Performance Installationen. Der Komponist und Saxophonist Christoph Gallio und der Photo-Video-Künstler Beat Streuli schlagen Brücken zwischen musikalischen Verläufen und Bildprojektionen.

Die Fülle an intermedialen und interdisziplinären Aufführungen wird ergänzt durch kammermusikalische Recitals. Ihr Berlin-Debüt geben der amerikanisch-japanische Komponist Ken Ueno, der junge niederländische Pianist Ralph van Raat und das 20-köpfige Ensemble Alarm Will Sound aus New York. Das Diotima Quartett ist erneut bei MaerzMusik zu Gast, ebenso wie das Trio Accanto mit seiner Hommage zum 75. Geburtstag von Helmut Lachenmann. Die mitternächtliche Reihe „Filme hören“ im Babylon Mitte konzentriert sich auf die Tonspuren bedeutender und berühmter Filme, deren Wirkung wesentlich auf ihrer Klanglichkeit beruht. Der assoziierte „Musik – Film – Marathon“ von Take Off Productions ergänzt im Anschluss trefflich das Leitthema von MaerzMusik 2011.

10 Jahre MaerzMusik – Seien Sie herzlich willkommen zu Abenteuern, Genüssen und Herausforderungen für Augen und Ohren.

Matthias Osterwold

| zurück