| Current Website | Imprint | Sitemap | Mobile     || Deutsch
| Home | JazzFest Berlin | JazzFest Berlin ’09
| JazzFest Berlin ’09
Opens a print version in a new window

JazzFest Berlin ’09

“It Must Schwing!” and More at JazzFest Berlin ’09

JazzFest Berlin ’09, which takes place this year from November 4th to 8th, is organized around the theme: “Blue Note: 70 years.” Both founders of the renowned jazz label, Alfred Lion (“It Must Schwing!”) and Francis Wolff, were Berlin natives, and both emigrated to the United States in the 1930s.

Francis Wolff photographed the musicians and designed covers for their recordings. On view at Berlin's Jewish Museum beginning on October 30th is a large selection of these images – an ideal occasion for presenting several choice artists beneath the museum’s glass-topped courtyard, among them Texan pianist Robert Glasper, who made his Blue Note debut in 2005. Aaron Parks, just 25 years old, has also recently signed a contract with Blue Note Records. His debut album “Invisible Cinema” was greeted with enthusiasm, and won him inclusion in the elite company of the “New Jazz Visionaries” (JazzTimes).

Among the most celebrated Blue Note artists of the present is the trumpeter/composer Terence Blanchard. He opens JazzFest Berlin ’09 on November 4th with a performance of his “A Tale of God’s Will (A Requiem For Katrina)” accompanied by the Deutsche Filmorchester Babelsberg. Julian Benedikt’s Grammy-nominated film “Blue Note – A Story of Modern Jazz” (1997) will be screened free of charge at a Sunday matinee at the Martin-Gropius-Bau. Other classic Blue Note tinged events include performances by trombonist Curtis Fuller and by Sheila Jordan, the first singer to stand in front of Alfred Lion’s microphones, accompanied by Steve Kuhn, another artist with the celebrated label.

Alongside this musical main course, Nils Landgren - the Artistic Director of JazzFest Berlin – has included some additional hors d’oeuvres in the festival menu in keeping to his time-tested motto: “show good music.” Among these is a colorful “smorgasbord” of the Scandinavian bands that have featured so prominently since the beginning of Landgren’s tenure, including the Tingvall Trio, the Ensemble Denada, Mathias Eick, and Arild Andersen.
The jazz of northern Europe finds its counterpart in South Africa's post-Apartheid generation of musicians: presented at Thursday evening’s concert will be percussionist and famed instructor Dizu Plaatjies and Afro Soul singer Lira.

New Orleans has been a source of constant inspiration For Nils Landgren, and remains close to his heart. Featured besides the above-mentioned opening event featuring Terence Blanchard is John Scofield’s Piety Street Band at the festival’s close, who follow up the Berlin “Schwing” of the preceding days by giving us a taste of their “I’ll fly away” swing.

PS. Are you familiar with the celebrated Neumann microphones?
Then your next step is the Georg-Neumann Saal of Berlin’s Jazz Institute am Einstein Ufer, the latest JazzFest performance venue – a hotbed of talent and a launching pad for creative young jazz artists.

| back

| aktuelle Website | Impressum | Sitemap | mobil     || English
| Home | JazzFest Berlin | JazzFest Berlin ’09
| JazzFest Berlin ’09
Öffnet die Druckansicht in einem neuen Fenster

JazzFest Berlin ’09

„It Must Schwing!“ und mehr beim JazzFest Berlin ’09

Das JazzFest Berlin ’09, das in diesem Jahr vom 4. bis 8. November stattfindet, steht ganz im Zeichen von „70 Jahre Blue Note“. Die Gründer des berühmten Jazz-Labels, Alfred Lion („It Must Schwing!“) und Francis Wolff, kamen aus Berlin und emigrierten in den Dreißigern des letzten Jahrhunderts in die Vereinigten Staaten.

Francis Wolff fotografierte die Musiker und gestaltete die Cover der Schallplatten. Im Jüdischen Museum Berlin werden ab 30. Oktober zahlreiche dieser Bilder zu sehen sein – ein schöner Anlass, um im Glashof des Museums einige erlesene Künstler zu präsentieren, u.a. Robert Glasper, den aus Texas stammenden Pianisten, der sein Blue Note Debüt im Jahr 2005 gab. Auch Aaron Parks, 25 Jahre alt, hat jüngst seinen Vertrag mit Blue Note Records unterschrieben. Sein Debütalbum „Invisible Cinema“ wurde enthusiastisch gefeiert und hat ihm eine Aufnahme in die Elite der „New Jazz Visionaries“ (JazzTimes) beschert.

Zu den profiliertesten Blue Note-Künstlern der Gegenwart gehört der Trompeter und Komponist Terence Blanchard. Er wird dieses Jahr gemeinsam mit dem Deutschen Filmorchester Babelsberg sein „A Tale of God’s Will (A Requiem For Katrina)“ aufführen und damit das JazzFest Berlin ’09 am 4. November eröffnen. Der Grammy-nominierte Film „Blue Note – A Story of Modern Jazz“ (1997) von Julian Benedikt wird in einer Sonntagsmatinee im Martin-Gropius-Bau bei freiem Eintritt gezeigt. Weitere klassisch Blue Note-gefärbte Acts: der Posaunist Curtis Fuller und Sheila Jordan, die erste Sängerin vor Alfred Lions Mikrofonen, begleitet von Steve Kuhn, der ebenfalls zum gefeierten Label gehörte.

Neben diesem musikalischen Hauptgericht, hat Nils Landgren, der Künstlerische Leiter des JazzFest Berlin, ganz nach seinem bewährten Motto „Gute Musik zeigen“ noch weitere amuse-gueules ins Festival-Menu aufgenommen. Darunter ein buntes „Smorgasbord“ mit skandinavischen Bands, die sich seit dem Beginn der Landgrenschen Ägide unüberhörbar in Stellung bringen, z.B. das Tingvall Trio, das Ensemble Denada, Mathias Eick oder Arild Andersen.
Der Norden erfährt sein Gegenstück in der musikalischen Post-Apartheid Generation Südafrikas: im Donnerstagabend-Konzert stellen sich der Perkussions-Dozent Dizu Plaatjies und die Afro-Soul Sängerin Lira vor.

Nils Landgren liegt New Orleans als Quelle ständiger Inspiration besonders nah. Nach der schon erwähnten Eröffnung mit Terence Blanchard ist es John Scofields Piety Street Band am Ende des Festivals, die nach dem Berlin-„Schwing“ der vorhergegangenen Tage ihre „I’ll fly away“-Schwingen ausbreitet.

PS. Sie haben schon mal was von den berühmten Neumann-Mikrofonen gehört? Dann sind Sie schon auf dem richtigen (Einstein-)Ufer des neuen JazzFest-Spielorts beim Jazz-Institut Berlin, der Kaderschmiede für kreativen Nachwuchs in Sachen Jazz.

| zurück