| Current Website | Imprint | Sitemap | Mobile     || Deutsch
| Home | MaerzMusik | MaerzMusik 2008
| MaerzMusik 2008
Opens a print version in a new window

MaerzMusik – Festival of Contemporary Music

7 to 16 March 2008

SITES · PLACES · DESERTS · JOURNEYS
SPAIN · PORTUGAL · MEXICO
PARIS · NEW YORK · AUSTRALIA


THE ART OF COLLECTION

PORTRAITS
LIZA LIM · EMMANUEL NUNES · STEFANO GERVASONI
SONIC ARTS LOUNGE

MaerzMusik 08 Motiv 1
The atmosphere of sites, the resonance of situations – but also the change of positions, wandering and travelling, are often initiators and subjects of musical compositions. Physical and metaphorical processes of persistence, parting, transition and transformation constitute the thematic framework of MaerzMusik 2008. Music originates in concrete locations and is projected onto concrete locations; it is co-shaped by the conditions of these places, and transformed through the change of place. Correlations between climate, mentality, inhospitableness and abundance, between history and the present, tradition and individual development, are musically investigated. There is a regional focus on the music of the Iberian Peninsula and Mexico, whereas the rusty fences of the Australian Outback, the boiling underground of 1980s New York, the Paris of the fin de siècle and 1920s, and long journeys through natural and symbolic deserts also have their musical role to play.

Artists from Australia, Portugal, Spain, Mexico, Uruguay, Italy, Paris, Berlin, and many other places, create a rich and colourful picture of contemporary music in premieres and new productions, orchestral and chamber music, experimental music theatre, multimedia performances and digitally based works.

A “prelude” entitled HUM – The Art of Collecting will carry the audience in a “taxomanic parcours” through the normally inaccessible research collections of the Museum of Natural History. These rooms – “deserts of order” – with their vast abundance of vessels, vitrines and cabinets, filled with preserved animal species and minerals of all kinds, will be activated by the ensemble “a rose is”, and by curators of the museum.

MaerzMusik 2008 will open with the world premiere of Hommage à Klaus Nomi by Olga Neuwirth. This “songplay” follows Nomi, a Bavarian counter tenor via Berlin to New York where, as a hyperartificial cult figure of the New Wave, he lived through a glorious yet short career, due to an early death from Aids. Lucia Ronchetti, in her new monodrama for soprano Albertine – after Marcel Proust – exposes the young object of desire, and subject of desiring, to the intimacy of a small salon audience.

The topic of the human voice appearing in an ever-changing light by way of cultural re-coding, electronic processing and experimental vocal practice, is taken up in the multimedia-opera Itinerário do Sal by the Portuguese Miguel Azguime. Stefano Gervasoni in his new work COM QUE VOZ, integrates the poetry and chants of traditional “Fado”, which reflects the melancholic history and passion of the Portuguese nation. From Mauricio Sotelo come original compositions for the flamenco singer Arcángel and guitarist Cañizares. Fátima Miranda fuses the gestures of flamenco with Mongolian overtone singing, Indian Dhrupad and experimental vocal techniques. At the end of the festival, the Catalan artist Carles Santos will celebrate in a drastic, erotically obsessive and powerful fashion the clash of his virtuoso piano toccatas with German Lied-romanticism and post-dada sound poetry in his music theatre piece El fervor de la perseverança.

The Porto based Remix Ensemble creates a portrait of Emmanuel Nunes, currently Portugal’s most significant composer. Another portrait is dedicated to the Chinese-Australian composer Liza Lim. She searches for frictions and fractions, as well as correlations and links between cultural spheres, through which she moves with elegance and expertise.

The night program of the SONIC ARTS LOUNGE offers, alongside premieres by the Berlin group Kapital Band I (with extended line-up), and Perlonex (in collaboration with the video artist Ulrike Flaig), meetings with the Iberian noise-shamans Francisco López und Rafael Toral, the fabulous flamenco singer Arcángel, the thrilling Tambuco Percussion Ensemble from Mexico City and the multimedia political activists Nortec Collective from Tijuana.

Before the events at the Haus der Berliner Festspiele, Jon Rose plays music on a short stretch of the Great Fences of Australia – which, in a desperate attempt to prevent the epidemic spread of rabbits and dingos, criss-cross the wastelands and deserts of the fifth continent from East to West.

Matthias Osterwold

| back

| aktuelle Website | Impressum | Sitemap | mobil     || English
| Home | MaerzMusik | MaerzMusik 2008
| MaerzMusik 2008
Öffnet die Druckansicht in einem neuen Fenster

MaerzMusik – Festival für aktuelle Musik

7. bis 16. März 2008

ORTE · PLÄTZE · WÜSTEN · WANDERUNGEN
SPANIEN · PORTUGAL · MEXIKO
PARIS · NEW YORK · AUSTRALIEN


DIE KUNST DES SAMMELNS

PORTRAITS
LIZA LIM · EMMANUEL NUNES · STEFANO GERVASONI
SONIC ARTS LOUNGE

MaerzMusik 08 Motiv 1
Die Atmosphäre von Orten, der Nachklang von Situationen, aber auch das Wechseln der Position, das Wandern und Reisen, sind nicht selten Impulsgeber und Gegenstand musikalischer Komposition. Physische und metaphorische Prozesse des Verharrens, des Abschieds, des Übergangs und der Verwandlung bilden den thematischen Rahmen von MaerzMusik 2008. Musik entsteht an konkreten Orten, sie wird auf spezifische Orte projiziert, sie wird durch die Bedingungen der Orte mitgeprägt, durch Ortswechsel verändert. So werden Wechselwirkungen zwischen Klima, Mentalität, Unwirtlichkeit und Überfluss, zwischen Geschichte und Gegenwart, Tradition und individueller Entwicklung im Festival musikalisch untersucht. Ein regionaler Schwerpunkt liegt auf Musik von der Iberischen Halbinsel und aus Mexiko – aber auch rostige Zäune im öden australischen Outback, New Yorks kochender Untergrund um 1980, das Paris der 20er Jahre und weite Wege durch Wüstenlandschaften spielen eine musikalische Rolle.

Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus Portugal, Spanien, Mexiko, Uruguay, Italien, Australien, Paris, Berlin und anderswoher lassen in Uraufführungen und Neuproduktionen, mit Orchester- und Kammermusik, experimentellem Musiktheater, mit multimedialen Performances und digital basierten Arbeiten ein reiches und farbintensives Bild aktueller Musik entstehen.

Ein „Vorspiel“ mit dem Titel HUM – Die Kunst des Sammelns entführt das Publikum über einen „taxomanischen Parcours“ in die sonst nicht zugänglichen Forschungssammlungen des Museums für Naturkunde. Diese Räume mit ihrer unübersehbaren Fülle an Gläsern, Vitrinen und Schubladen, angefüllt mit allen möglichen konservierten Tierarten und Mineralien – „Wüsten der Ordnung“ –, werden vom Ensemble „a rose is“ und Kustoden des Museums nach allen Regeln der Kunst und Wissenschaft bespielt.

MaerzMusik 2008 eröffnet mit der Uraufführung Hommage à Klaus Nomi von Olga Neuwirth. Das „Songplay“ verfolgt den Weg des bayrischen Countertenors über Berlin nach New York, wo Nomi als hyperartifizielle Kultfigur des New Wave eine kometenhafte, durch frühen Aids-Tod jedoch rasch verlöschende Karriere durchlief. Lucia Ronchetti setzt in ihrem neuen Monodram Albertine nach Marcel Proust das Objekt der Begierde und Subjekt des Begehrens, dargestellt durch die Sopranistin Anna Prohaska, der Intimität eines kleinen Salonpublikums aus.

Die Spur der menschlichen Stimme, deren Artikulationen durch kulturelle Rekodierung, elektronische Verfremdung und experimentelle vokale Praxis stetig in neuem, wechselnden Licht erscheinen, greift der Portugiese Miguel Azguime in der Multimedia-Oper Itinerário do sal auf. Stefano Gervasoni integriert in seinneues Werk COM QUE VOZ Gesänge des „Fado“, in denen sich melancholisch Geschichte und Affekt der portugiesischen Nation spiegeln. Von Mauricio Sotelo sind Werke für den Flamenco-Sänger Arcángel und den Gitarristen Cañizares zu hören. Fátima Miranda verschmilzt in ihren vokalen Exkursionen den Gestus des Flamenco mit mongolischem Obertongesang, indischem Dhrupad und freien Stimmtechniken. Zum Abschluss des Festivals zelebriert der Katalane Carles Santos in El fervor de la perseverança drastisch, erotisch obsessiv und klangmächtig die Karambolage seiner virtuosen Klaviertoccaten mit deutscher Liedromantik und postdadaistischer Lautpoesie.

Das Remix Ensemble aus Porto zeichnet bei seinem Berliner Debüt ein Porträt von Emmanuel Nunes, Portugals derzeit bedeutendstem Komponisten, der sich durch eine hochkomplexe, dichte Tonsprache auszeichnet. Liza Lim gilt ein weiteres Porträt. Die chinesisch-australische Komponistin sucht nach Brüchen, aber auch nach Verknüpfungen der entfernten kulturellen Sphären, zwischen denen sie sich gewandt und kundig bewegt.

Das Nachtprogramm SONIC ARTS LOUNGE bietet neben Premieren der Berliner Formationen Kapital Band I und Perlonex (mit der Videokünstlerin Ulrike Flaig) die Begegnung mit den iberischen Geräusch-Schamanen Francisco López und Rafael Toral, mit purem Flamenco, mit dem mitreißenden Tambuco Percussion Ensemble aus Mexico City und den multimedialen Politaktivisten des Nortec Collective aus Tijuana.

Vor jeder Veranstaltung im Haus der Berliner Festspiele macht Jon Rose Musik auf einem kurzen Stück jener Zäune, die als Great Fences of Australia die endlosen Einöden und Wüsten des fünften Kontinents von Osten nach Westen durchqueren, in der verzweifelten Absicht, die epidemische Ausbreitung eingeschleppter Kaninchen und Dingos zu verhindern.

Matthias Osterwold

| zurück