| Current Website | Imprint | Sitemap | Mobile     || Deutsch
| Home | MaerzMusik | MaerzMusik 2007
| MaerzMusik 2007
Opens a print version in a new window

MaerzMusik – Festival of Contemporary Music

16 to 25 March 2007

ALPENMUSIK ↔ STADTMUSIK ↔ TURMMUSIK: MaerzMusik 2007 will focus on the distinctions but also the interplay between things local and global, rural and urban, between the remoteness of the mountains and urban density, between the sounds of nature and the background noises of civilisation. Music from the alpine regions – primarily from Switzerland but also including artists from Austria, Northern Italy and Slovenia will illustrate this dialectical discourse. The selection traces the idea of how alpine landscapes and local traditional cultures are reflected in new music – be it in a direct or in a very subtle manner, or even in the form of conscious negation or parody – as a source of inspiration and material or as an analogy. On the other hand, it deals with the question of how to keep, preserve and re-interpret traditional folk music.

The festival will be opened by fichten., an orchestral space installation by Klaus Lang from Graz, placing its audience in a stylised forest and enveloping it in misty orchestral sounds that might conjure up images of foggy hillsides. “Tone”, “intonation”, image and alpine dialects will constitute the subtle common keynote of a programme compiled by Collegium Novum Zürich presenting works by Swiss, Austrian, and German composers. Similar keynotes will be struck by Ensemble Resonanz from Hamburg, among others presenting a “Gebirgsmusik” (mountain music) by HK Gruber, by a first performance of a piece for 24 “re-tuned” strings by Edu Haubensak, and a new work by Beat Furrer. The Ensemble Contrechamps from Geneva, performing in Berlin for the first time, will paint a vivid portrait of Stefano Gervasoni from Bergamo, framed by works of doyen Klaus Huber and young Claire-Mélanie Sinnhuber from Western Switzerland.

For most of us, life in a big city has become a kind of second nature. Cities are places of innovation, experiment, communication, anonymity. Cities are vast mines of music, sounds and noises. Cities – like the Alps – are readable and walkable landscapes, with peaks, valleys, ravines, plains and caves. Hikers and mountaineers are replaced by city strollers. Projects emanating urban intensity can be absorbed mainly in the night sessions of SONIC ARTS LOUNGE. Hardcore Chambermusic, the label of Swiss trio Koch-Schütz-Studer will – metonymically – get to the core of a new type of ensemble music at the intersection of composition and improvisation, acoustic instruments and digital technology. Moreover, MaerzMusik will present Polwechsel, Steamboat Switzerland and the workshop project grep, as well as a lounge with Linux electronic technicians. A contrasting event will be the night time performance of an organ concert by Austrian action artist Hermann Nitsch at Heilig-Kreuz-Kirche.

Not only church towers but every kind of tower represents the fright and delight of striving for higher things, for elevation, for view and overview, but also stands for risk-taking and arrogance – quite comparable to the enthusiastic feeling of high-flying it to the summit. Towers replace mountains. The top of TURMMUSIK will quite literally be presented by Babylonische Schleife (Babylonian Loop), designed by Moritz Gagern for the revolving restaurant of the Berlin television tower. Walking in the limits by Heinz Reber will look down from the 30th floor of a hotel at Alexanderplatz onto life, love, separation, society. Several other music theatre projects will combine the main themes of the festival with (auto)biographical motives. In a first performance of Physics for the Girl in the Street Jennifer Walshe from Ireland will blend her own voice and obscure recordings of real and unreal persons into an enigmatic, mesmerising séance. Mela Meierhans will let Tante Hänsi (aunt Hänsi) talk about the handling of death and the dead in her remote home valley – the yodelling and cheering of 19 farmers and craftsmen from Inner Switzerland can surely move mountains.

Matthias Osterwold

| back

| aktuelle Website | Impressum | Sitemap | mobil     || English
| Home | MaerzMusik | MaerzMusik 2007
| MaerzMusik 2007
Öffnet die Druckansicht in einem neuen Fenster

MaerzMusik – Festival für aktuelle Musik

16. bis 25. März 2007

ALPENMUSIK ↔ STADTMUSIK ↔ TURMMUSIK: MaerzMusik 2007 stellt den Kontrast und das Wechselspiel zwischen Lokalem und Globalem, zwischen Ländlichem und Städtischem, zwischen Entlegenheit der Bergwelt und urbaner Verdichtung, zwischen Naturklängen und zivilisatorischer Geräuschkulisse ins Zentrum. Musik aus dem Alpenraum, mit einem Schwerpunkt auf der Schweiz, aber auch mit Künstlern aus Österreich, Norditalien und Slowenien, steht für diesen dialektischen Diskurs. Die Auswahl orientiert sich an der Idee, wie alpine Landschaft und lokale traditionelle Kultur als Inspiration, Materialquelle und Analogie in neuer Musik einen direkten oder auch einen sehr verdeckten Widerschein finden, bis hin zur bewussten Negation und Parodie. Umgekehrt geht es auch um die Frage nach Erhalt, Pflege und Neuinterpretation traditioneller Volksmusik.
| zum Programm allgemein

Das Festival eröffnet mit der Orchester-Rauminstallation fichten. des Grazers Klaus Lang. Die in einem stilisierten Wald lagernden Zuschauer könnten in dem sie umgebenden diffusen Orchesterklang an eine nebelverhangene Berglandschaft denken. Das Collegium Novum Zürich bringt ein Programm Schweizer, österreichischer und deutscher Komponisten, bei dem „Ton“, „Intonation“, Bild und Mundarten der Alpen den hintergründigen Leitfaden bilden. Ähnliches gilt für das Hamburger Ensemble Resonanz, u.a. mit einer „Gebirgsmusik“ von HK Gruber, einer Uraufführung für 24 „umgestimmte“ Streicher von Edu Haubensak und einem neuen Werk von Beat Furrer. Das Ensemble Contrechamps aus Genf, erstmalig in Berlin, zeichnet ein Portrait von Stefano Gervasoni aus Bergamo, umrahmt von Werken des Altmeisters Klaus Huber und der jungen Westschweizerin Claire-Mélanie Sinnhuber.
| zum Thema „Alpenmusik“

Das Leben in Großstädten ist der Mehrzahl der Menschen zur zweiten Natur geworden. Städte sind Orte der Innovation, des Experiments, der Kommunikation, der Anonymität. Städte sind riesige Steinbrüche an Musiken, Klängen und Geräuschen. Städte sind wie die Alpen als Landschaften lesbar und begehbar, mit Gipfeln, Tälern, Schluchten, Ebenen und Höhlen. Der Flaneur ersetzt den Wanderer und Bergsteiger. Projekte, die urbane Intensität ausstrahlen, finden sich vorwiegend in der nächtlichen SONIC ARTS LOUNGE. Hardcore Chambermusic, das Etikett des Schweizer Trios Koch-Schütz-Studer trifft – pars pro toto – den Kern eines neuen Typs von Ensemblemusik an der Schnittstelle von Komposition und Improvisation, akustischen Instrumenten und digitaler Technologie. MaerzMusik stellt daneben Polwechsel, Steamboat Switzerland und das Workshopprojekt grep vor, nebst einer Lounge mit Linux-Elektronikern. Im Kontrast dazu steht das nächtliche Orgelkonzert des österreichischen Aktionisten Hermann Nitsch in der Heilig-Kreuz-Kirche.
| zum Thema „Stadtmusik“

Nicht nur Kirchtürme, jegliche Türme verkörpern das angstlustige Streben nach Höherem, nach Erhabenheit, nach Schau und Übersicht, aber auch Risiko und Hochmut, den Affekten des Gipfelsturms durchaus vergleichbar. Türme ersetzen Berge. Buchstäblich an der Spitze der TURMMUSIK steht die Babylonische Schleife, die Moritz Gagern für das Drehrestaurant des Berliner Fernsehturms konzipierte. Walking in the limits von Heinz Reber schaut aus dem 30. Stock des Hotels am Alexanderplatz auf das eigene Leben, die Liebe, die Trennung, die Gesellschaft. Auch die weiteren Musiktheaterprojekte verknüpfen die Leitthemen des Festivals mit (auto)biographischen Motiven. In der Uraufführung von Physics for the Girl in the Street verschmilzt die Irin Jennifer Walshe ihre eigene Stimme mit obskuren Aufnahmen wirklicher und unwirklicher Personen zu einer rätselhaften mesmerischen Séance. Mela Meierhans lässt Tante Hänsi über den Umgang mit dem Tod und den Toten im abgelegenen Heimattal zu Wort kommen – die Jodel und Juuchzer der 19 Bauern und Handwerker aus der Innerschweiz versetzen Berge.
| zum Thema „Turmmusik“

Matthias Osterwold

| zurück