| Current Website | Imprint | Sitemap | Mobile     || Deutsch
| Home | MaerzMusik | Programme | Complete
| Programme
| Complete
Opens a print version in a new window

Kaija Saariaho: L’Amour de loin

PRE MUSIC | MUSIC THEATRE
Kaija Saariaho L’Amour de loin (2000)
Libretto Amin Maalouf
operatic concert with a mediaartistic design by Jean-Baptiste Barrière

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin
Kent Nagano · conductor
Magali de Prelle · soprano
Marie-Ange Todorovitch · mezzo soprano
Daniel Belcher · baritone
Isabelle Voßkühler · soprano
Rundfunkchor Berlin
Simon Halsey · choir direction

Visual Presentation
Jean-Baptiste Barrière · concept and computer graphics
Pierre-Jean Bouyer · computer graphics
Isabelle Barrière · live video and computer graphics
David Sheppard, Sound Intermedia · sound effects
Image Auditive · production | With the support of CiTu

An event of DSO Berlin/ROC-GmbH in cooperation with
MaerzMusik | Berliner Festspiele and Rundfunkchor Berlin

A performance promising a high degree of authenticity. In August 2000, Kent Nagano conducted the première of Kaija Saariaho’s opera L’amour de loin at Salzburger Festspiele. The libretto was written by Franco-Lebanese author Amin Maalouf, who artistically develops his story with an ever-shifting focus of suspense.

The plot, set in a (for us) imaginary world, shifts between Near East and Occident and tells the story of troubadour Jaufré Rudel. Tales about the Princess of Tripolis awaken in him the “love from afar”. He decides to set out in search of the woman of his longing. On his way to Lebanon he falls ill. His “love” comes to visit him on his deathbed; he dies in her arms.

Electronic, traditional, instrumental and vocal music melt in Kaija Saariaho’s score. Composed purely from sound, it endows the vocal parts with a graphic quality that makes the characters appear in their true mental and emotional being. It sounds out the sonic world of the Middle Ages, the charged interplay between oriental and occidental traditions. It gives the different stages of the plot their own colour and character. The score becomes the true scene.

| aktuelle Website | Impressum | Sitemap | mobil     || English
| Home | MaerzMusik | Programm | Gesamt
| Programm
| Gesamt
Öffnet die Druckansicht in einem neuen Fenster

Kaija Saariaho: L’Amour de loin

VORMUSIK | MUSIKTHEATER
Kaija Saariaho L’Amour de loin (2000)
Libretto Amin Maalouf
Konzertante Aufführung mit einer medienkünstlerischen Gestaltung
von Jean-Baptiste Barrière

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin
Kent Nagano · Leitung
Magali de Prelle · Sopran
| Marie-Ange Todorovitch · Mezzosopran
Daniel Belcher · Bariton
Isabelle Voßkühler · Sopran
Rundfunkchor Berlin
Simon Halsey · Einstudierung

Visuelle Präsentation
Jean-Baptiste Barrière · Konzeption und Computer-Grafik
Pierre-Jean Bouyer · Computer-Grafik
Isabelle Barrière · Live Video und Computer-Grafik
David Sheppard, Sound Intermedia · Sound Effekte
Image Auditive · Produktion | Mit Unterstützung von CiTu

Eine Veranstaltung von DSO Berlin/ROC-GmbH in Zusammenarbeit
mit MaerzMusik | Berliner Festspiele und Rundfunkchor Berlin

Die Aufführung verspricht höchste Authentizität. Kent Nagano dirigierte im August 2000 die Uraufführung von Kaija Saariahos Oper L’Amour de loin bei den Salzburger Festspielen. Das Libretto schrieb der französisch-libanesische Autor Amin Maalouf, der in seiner Kunst eine Spannung der Geschichte, die zwischen Orient und Okzident, in immer neuen Belichtungen austrägt.

Die Handlung spielt in einer für uns imaginären Welt. Sie erzählt von dem Troubadour Jaufré Rudel. Erzählungen über die Prinzessin von Tripolis wecken in ihm die „ferne Liebe“. Er beschließt, die Frau seiner Sehsucht zu suchen. Auf dem Weg in den Libanon erkrankt er. Die ferne Geliebte kommt zum Lager des Todkranken. Er stirbt in ihren Armen.

Kaija Saariahos Partitur verschmilzt elektronische, herkömmlich instrumentale und vokale Musik. Ganz aus dem Klang heraus komponiert, verleiht sie den Partien der Singstimmen die Plastizität, in denen die Menschen in ihrem Wesen und ihren Empfindungen erscheinen. Sie richtet Sonden in die Klangwelt des Mittelalters, ins Spannungsfeld orientalischer und okzidentaler Traditionen. Sie verleiht den Stationen der Handlung ihre Farbe, ihren Charakter. Sie ist die eigentliche Szene.