| Current Website | Imprint | Sitemap | Mobile     || Deutsch
| Home | JazzFest Berlin | Info | JazzFest 05
| Info
| JazzFest 05
Opens a print version in a new window

Berlin Jazz Festival 2005

2 – 6 November

A foray into the Italian jazz scene and a close look at the pulsating metropolis of Istanbul will make up the thematic focus of Berlin Jazz Festival ’05. Experiences will include exciting duo constellations ranging from the “never heard” to the “truly unheard-of” and a whole range of topical highlights. This season’s popular acts will encompass Joe Zawinul with WDR Big Band Köln, Maria Schneider, Enrico Rava, Bill Frisell, Hermeto Pascoal and the Charlie Haden’s Liberation Music Orchestra with Carla Bley. In addition, two Atlanta-based bands will invite us on a voyage into the US jamband scene. Meanwhile, the festival will also keep up its programmatic course of presenting still largely unknown European bands. From 2nd till 6th of November Jazzfest will welcome you at Haus der Berliner Festspiele, the Quasimodo club, at Kulturbrauerei and, after a long absence, again at Delphi Filmpalast.

Exclusive

We will be happy to exclusively present a number of projects this coming autumn. Peter Schulze, artistic director of Jazzfest, has been able to win over Dutch Dadaist drummer Han Bennink and Brazilian legend Hermeto Pascoal for a first duo concert. Norwegian accordionist Stian Carstensen will, for the first time, appear on stage together with Italian pianist Stefano Bollani. “Hidden Tracks” is the name of a project by Milan-based Steve Piccolo, former bassist of the Lounge Lizards, and Japanese electronica-geek Gak Sato: a mixture of sound samples recently recorded in Berlin and their live music will blend into a very special sound-“track” of the metropolis. Also in on the gig: New York guitarist Elliott Sharp.

Jazz Scenes of Italy and Istanbul

In past years Berlin Jazz Festival has increasingly dedicated attention to the jazz scene of a particular country or geographical region – this year Italy and Istanbul will make up a double-focus. L’Orchestra di Piazza Vittorio is an Italian project comprising 16 musicians from 11 countries. Saxophonist Enzo Favata will present his extraordinary mixture of jazz and Sardinian folk music, with powerful support from the Tenores di Bitti vocal quartet.

Urban Realities: Focus on Istanbul – the multifaceted arts and music scene of the Turkish metropolis will constitute a focal point of this autumn’s festival programme of Berliner Festspiele. Berlin Jazz Festival ’05 will assimilate this focus by presenting – among others – clarinettist Hüsnü Senlendirici with his ensemble, and a group around violinist Turay Dinleyen and percussionist Suat Borazan. Another special guest will be Erkan Ogur, one of the most influential and respected Turkish musicians since the 1980s. The younger scene will be represented by the Tamburada group.

Large Ensembles

Apart from L’Orchestra di Piazza Vittorio you will be able to experience a variety of large ensembles. We will be happy to present Maria Schneider and Carla Bley, the two foremost big band arrangers and composers of our time.

The well-known musicians of the Charlie Haden Liberation Music Orchestra will present the ensemble’s most recent album “Not in Our Name”, arranged by Carla Bley: a manifesto of the existence of a different America.

The Washington Post about Maria Schneider: “No wonder she refers to the ensemble she leads as an orchestra rather than a big band, for the music it produces has a beauty, power and depth unmatched by any conventional big band”. In her only German performance Maria Schneider will present her Grammied album “Concert in the Garden”.

WDR Big Band Köln, one of the most appealing large ensembles today, will present itself, and ‘him’ - keyboard and Weather Report legend Joe Zawinul.

Jambands

The term jamband was formerly used to describe psychedelic rock bands in the tradition of Greatful Dead, turning the live performance of their songs into an excessive improvising on stage. Today the term is used in a broader musical sense, referring to an affiliation to certain genres as well as to an audience with an insatiable appetite for live performances. Two of the currently most exciting acts from the scene can be witnessed at Berlin Jazz Festival ’05.

More than 10 years ago, guitar-wizard Derek Trucks founded his own five-musician group, The Derek Trucks Band, standing out for their improvisational and musical wanderlust. In their music they combine elements of jazz, rock, blues, as well as Latin and Caribbean influences. Also from Atlanta: “Rev.” Jeff Mosier and his Ear Reverents, who indeed practice an irreverent-contemporary handling of old US roots traditions.

| back

| aktuelle Website | Impressum | Sitemap | mobil     || English
| Home | JazzFest Berlin | Infos | JazzFest 05
| Infos
| JazzFest 05
Öffnet die Druckansicht in einem neuen Fenster

JazzFest Berlin '05

2. – 6. November 2005

Ein Streifzug durch die italienische Jazz-Szene und ein Blick auf die pulsierende Metropole Istanbul stehen im thematischen Zentrum des JazzFest Berlin ’05. Spannende Duo-Konstellationen zwischen „nie gehört“ und „unerhört“ sind zu erleben und jede Menge aktueller Glanzlichter. Zu den populären Acts dieser Saison gehören Joe Zawinul mit der WDR Big Band Köln, Maria Schneider, Enrico Rava, Bill Frisell, Hermeto Pascoal und das Charlie Haden’s Liberation Music Orchestra mit Carla Bley. Zudem laden zwei Bands aus Atlanta zu einem Ausflug in die US Jamband-Szene. Das Festival setzt ebenfalls seine programmatische Linie fort, noch weitgehend unbekannte europäische Bands und Musiker vorzustellen. Vom 2. bis 6. November lädt das JazzFest ins Haus der Berliner Festspiele, in den Club Quasimodo, in die Kulturbrauerei und nach langer Zeit wieder in den Delphi Filmpalast.
| Peter Schulze über Duokonstellationen


Exklusiv

Wir freuen uns, in diesem Herbst eine Reihe von Projekten exklusiv zu präsentieren. Der künstlerische Leiter des JazzFestes Peter Schulze konnte den niederländischen Schlagzeug-Dadaisten Han Bennink und die brasilianische Musikerlegende Hermeto Pascoal für ein erstes gemeinsames Duo-Konzert gewinnen. Nach seinem Konzert mit dem Saxofonisten Iain Ballamy wird der norwegische Akkordeonist Stian Carstensen dieses Jahr erstmals mit dem italienischen Pianisten Stefano Bollani auftreten. „Hidden Tracks“ nennen die beiden Wahl-Mailänder Steve Piccolo, ehemals Bassist bei den Lounge Lizards, und der japanische Soundtüftler Gak Sato ihr Projekt: im Sommer in Berlin aufgenommene ‚Field Recordings’ verschmelzen dabei mit live eingespielter Musik zu einem sehr speziellen Sound-„Track“ der Metropole. Mit von der Partie: der New Yorker Gitarrist Elliott Sharp.
| Peter Schulze über exklusive Projekte


Jazz-Szene Italien und Istanbul

Schon in den letzten Jahren widmete sich das JazzFest Berlin verstärkt der Jazzszene einer Nation oder eines geografischen Raums - mit Italien und Istanbul sind das in diesem Jahr gleich zwei. Aus Italien kommt L’Orchestra di Piazza Vittorio: ein aus 16 Musikern aus 11 Ländern bestehendes Projekt. Der Saxofonist Enzo Favata präsentiert eine unvergleichliche Mixtur aus Jazz und sardischer Volksmusik, stimmgewaltig unterstützt durch das Vokalquartett Tenores di Bitti.
| Peter Schulze über die Jazz-Szene Italien


Urbane Realitäten: Fokus Istanbul – Schwerpunkt des Festivalprogramms der Berliner Festspiele im Herbst ist die vielschichtige Kunst- und Musikszene der türkischen Metropole. Beim diesjährigen Jazzfest werden dies u. a. der Klarinettist Hüsnü Senlendirici mit seinem Ensemble und eine Formation um den Violinisten Turay Dinleyen und den Perkussionisten Suat Borazan unter Beweis stellen. Mit Erkan Ogur wird einer der seit den 80er Jahren einflussreichsten und respektiertesten türkischen Musiker zu Gast sein. Die jüngere Szene vertritt die Gruppe Tamburada.
| Peter Schulze über Istanbul
| Peter Schulze über die Jazz-Szene Istanbul


Große Ensembles

Neben dem Orchestra di Piazza Vittorio gibt es eine ganze Palette unterschiedlicher Großformationen zu erleben. Das JazzFest Berlin freut sich, mit Maria Schneider und Carla Bley die derzeit wichtigsten Big Band-Arrangeurinnen und Komponistinnen präsentieren zu können.

Das prominent besetzte Charlie Haden Liberation Music Orchestra stellt sein jüngstes „Not in Our Name“ betiteltes Album vor: ein Manifest für die Existenz eines anderen Amerika, in den Arrangements von Carla Bley.

Die Washington Post schreibt über Maria Schneider: „Kein Wunder, dass sie ihr Ensemble lieber als Orchester denn als Big Band beschreibt: Eine herkömmliche Big Band spielt nicht derart schöne, kraftvolle und bewegende Musik.“ Bei ihrem einzigen Deutschland-Konzert präsentiert Maria Schneider das mit dem Grammy ausgezeichnete Album „Concert in the Garden“.

Die WDR Big Band Köln, eine der attraktivsten Großformationen der Gegenwart, wird sich und ‚ihn’, die Keyboard- und Weather Report Legende Joe Zawinul vorstellen.
| Peter Schulze über große Ensembles


Jambands

Mit dem Begriff Jamband beschrieb man früher psychedelische Rockbands, die im Erbe von Greatful Dead stehend die Live-Darbietung ihrer Songs als Basis für exzessive Improvisationen nutzen. Heute wird der Begriff in einem musikalisch weiter gefassten Sinne verwendet, der sich ebenso auf ein Publikum mit einem unstillbaren Appetit für große Live-Konzerte bezieht wie auf bestimmte Genrezugehörigkeiten. Beim JazzFest Berlin ’05 werden zwei der derzeit spannendsten Acts dieser Szene auftreten.

Die fünfköpfige The Derek Trucks Band existiert mittlerweile über 10 Jahre und zeichnet sich durch Improvisations- und musikalische Entdeckerlust aus. In ihrer Musik vermischen sich Jazz, Rock, Blues, Latin und karibische Einflüsse. Ebenfalls aus Atlanta kommen „Reverend“ Jeff Mosier und seine Ear Reverents, die tatsächlich einen ‚respektlos’-zeitgenössischen Umgang mit alten US Roots-Traditionen pflegen.
| Peter Schulze über Jambands

| zurück